Save the date ALPM 2018

The 2018 conference will be held in Toronto, ON.
May 31 – June 2, 2018
Pre-conference workshop(s) will be held on May 30th

Our newly-formed Conference Committee is working on the program. The Committee will announce the keynote speakers and invited workshop presenters in the fall.

There will be many opportunities for CSPCP members to contribute to the program including:

  • A call to CSPCP members to submit proposals for interactive workshops
  • A call for abstracts for short oral presentations – research, innovation
  • A call for abstracts for poster presentations
  • A call to Residents for presentations and/or posters regarding their scholarly projects

The call for interactive workshops proposals will be issued in September 2017.
The timing and deadlines for the other calls will be announced in the fall.

Edmonton Conference Report

The 2017 Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference, “Compassion, Innovation, Collaboration … Making a Difference” took place in Edmonton from June 1 – 3, 2017. Nearly 200 physicians came together to learn and network through a variety of workshops, keynotes, exhibits and social opportunities.

Thank you to everyone who helped make the conference a success: CPD co-chairs Anna Voeuk and Leonie Herx, conference co-chairs Ingrid DeKock and Noush Mirhosseini, and members of the planning committee: Sarah Burton-MacLeod, Rebekah Gilbert, Lawrence Lee, Yoko Tarumi, Leeanne Akehurst, Kim Taylor, Michelle Veer; our generous speakers, poster presenters, exhibitors and sponsors, and to everyone who attended ALPM 2017. It was an informative and memorable time for all.

Detailed conference report: ALPM highlights 2017
Slide show: Click to view here

Bill C-277 progresses to Senate

We are pleased to report that private member’s bill C-277, an Act providing for the Development of a Framework on Palliative Care in Canada, has passed third reading in the House of Commons. It is being reviewed by the Senate this month (June 2017).

The CSPCP participated in a joint press release with the Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association, the Canadian Medical Association, and the Canadian Nurses Association to express our appreciation.


The CSPCP is already engaging with the Senate to ask their support for the bill.

Message to all senators in Canada
English C-277 Brief
French C-277 Brief

CSPCP Board 2017 – 18

(Left to Right) Anne Boyle, Bruno Gagnon, Stephanie Connidis, David Henderson, Ebru Kaya, Leonie Herx, Anna Voeuk and Stephen Singh (Missing from photo: Monica Branigan & Pippa Hawley)

Five Directors at Large were elected for a two-year term at the CSPCP AGM on June 2, 2017:

Dr. Anne Boyle (re-elected, newly appointed as Treasurer)
Dr. Stephanie Connidis (re-elected, continuing as Secretary)
Dr. Bruno Gagnon (re-elected)
Dr. David Henderson (re-elected, continuing as President)
Dr. Ebru Kaya
Dr. Stephen Singh (re-elected)

Terms are continuing for:

Dr. Monica Branigan (Director at Large)
Dr. Pippa Hawley (Director at Large)
Dr. Leonie Herx (Director at Large; newly appointed as President-Elect)
Dr. Anna Voeuk (Director at Large)

Thank you to everyone who ran for the Board, and congratulations those who were elected or re-elected. A special thank you to our outgoing Past-President Dr. Susan MacDonald for her ten years of service with the Society.