Deadline: February 2, 2020
Winners announced by: March 9, 2020
Winners honoured: ALPM Conference in Hamilton, ON

The Eduardo Bruera Award

The Eduardo Bruera Award in Palliative Medicine recognizes those physicians who have made a difference at a local/regional level, demonstrating a commitment to excellence in palliative medicine in the following five areas: clinical palliative medicine, education, research, program administration/leadership, or international involvement in palliative medicine.

The area of emphasis for 2020 is CLINICAL PALLIATIVE MEDICINE.

The rotation is shown below. Note that international involvement in palliative medicine is a component of each year’s Award but is not a specific area of emphasis in any year.

2020 – Clinical palliative medicine
2021 – Comprehensive Commitment
2022 – Education
2023 – Program administration/leadership
2024 – Research

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.

The CSPCP Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award will be given annually to a CSPCP member who significantly improves the lives of underserved populations nationally or internationally, through:

a) Direct service provision AND/OR
b) Development of humanitarian programs

The humanitarian work does not have to be in the field of palliative medicine, but the nominee must be a palliative medicine physician.

The winner will receive one year of free membership in the CSPCP, a commemorative plaque, and presentation of the award during the 16th Annual Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Hamilton, Ontario (May 28 – 30, 2020). Prize: A donation of $1000 to a humanitarian organization selected by the winner.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.