Category Archives: Latest News


(Dec 7, 2018) The CSPCP responded to a commentary in the CMAJ asking for a ministerial recall of high-strength opioid formulations. Thank you to CSPCP Communications Committee Member Catriona Aparicio for helping prepare the response.

CSPCP response:–juurlinks-high-strength-opioid-formulations-the-case-for-a-ministerial-recall

Call for Nominations: Eduardo Bruera Award and Humanitarian Award

Deadline: CLOSED

The Eduardo Bruera Award

The Eduardo Bruera Award in Palliative Medicine recognizes CSPCP members who have made an important difference to palliative medicine through their clinical work, teaching and education, research, program administration, and/or international involvement in palliative care. The area of emphasis for 2019 will be research. It is co-sponsored by the Division of Palliative Care Medicine at the University of Alberta and the CSPCP.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.

The CSPCP Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award will be given annually to a CSPCP member who significantly improves the lives of underserved populations nationally or internationally, through:

a) Direct service provision AND/OR
b) Development of humanitarian programs

The humanitarian work does not have to be in the field of palliative medicine, but the nominee must be a palliative medicine physician. The prize includes a $1000 donation to a humanitarian organization chosen by the winner.

Visit the awards page for detailed criteria and submission information.


Congratulations to Queen’s University student Zoe Lau, winner of the 2018 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine. We have invited Ms. Lau to personally share her narrative at the 2019 Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Calgary (May 23 – 25, 2019). She will also receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada. We have also encouraged her to submit her narrative for potential publication.

Each year the award is granted in honour of a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine. This year’s honouree is Dr. Lyle Galloway from the University of Calgary.

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2018 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Lyle Galloway (Honoree, U. of Calgary), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Cori Schroder (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.