Training Opportunities

PM Residency Programs (CFPC Enhanced Skills, “PGY3” “YAC”)

University Program Director Email
University of BC Dr. Anoo Tamber anoo.tamber@gmail.com
University of Calgary Dr. Laurie Lemieux Laurie.Lemieux@albertahealthservices.ca
University of Alberta Dr. Sarah Burton-MacLeod sarah.burtonmacleod@ahs.ca
University of Manitoba Dr. Michael Volpe mvolpe@wrha.mb.ca 
Universite de Montreal Dr. Andreanne Cote andreanne.cote.cnmtl@ssss.gouv.qc.ca
McGill University Dr. Donald Ginsberg donald.ginsberg@mcgill.ca
McMaster University Dr. Alan Taniguchi taniga@mcmaster.ca
Universite de Sherbrooke Dr. Carl Bromwich carl.bromwich@usherbrooke.ca
Universite Laval Dr. Samir Azzaria sazzaria@michel.sarrazin.ca
Dalhousie Univeristy Dr. Erin Gorman Corsten erin.gormancorsten@nshealth.ca
Western University Dr. Anita Singh anita.singh@lhsc.on.ca
University of Toronto Dr. Sarah Kawaguchi skawaguchi@qmed.ca
Queen’s University Dr. Craig Goldie goldiecr@kgh.kari.net
University of Ottawa Dr. Christopher Barnes cbarnes@bruyere.org

PM Residency Programs (Royal College Subspecialty, 2 year program)

University of BC Dr. Julia Ridley julia.ridley@alumni.ubc.ca
University of Calgary Dr. Amanda Roze des Ordons amanda.rozedesordons@albertahealthservices.ca
University of Toronto Dr. Ebru Kaya ebru.kaya@uhn.ca
Queen’s University Dr. Craig Goldie goldiecr@kgh.kari.net
University of Ottawa Dr. Christopher Barnes cbarnes@bruyere.org
Dalhousie Univeristy Dr. Erin Gorman Corsten erin.gormancorsten@nshealth.ca

Some Specific Opportunities


Clinical Fellowships at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
A one-year clinical fellowship is offered at the Department of Supportive Care. Affiliated with the University of Toronto, the Department of Supportive Care at Princess Margaret provides fellows with an outstanding clinical experience. The department offers fellows in palliative care a wide range of supervisors and positions within its clinical programs, making the Department of Supportive Care a major contributor to the success of these fellowships.

Read More

Clinical & Research Fellowships at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
A clinical and research fellowship in palliative care is offered at the Department of Supportive Care at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. Affiliated with the University of Toronto, the Department of Supportive Care at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre provides fellows with an outstanding clinical experience. Typically, fellowships are for a 2-year duration, contingent on a successful evaluation after one year.

Read More

Palliative Care Training at McGill – Accredited One-Year Program of Added Competency
Develop expertise dealing with pain, symptom management, psychological, emotional & spiritual needs of those with advanced life-threatening illness. Gain experience on inpatient units, consultation service, home care and elective rotations. Pursue your academic and research goals with a network of residents and professionals from across Canada.

Read more

Year of Added Competency in Palliative Medicine
The University of B.C. Division of Palliative Care offers a one year program in Palliative Medicine, jointly accredited by the College of Family Physicians and the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada.

Read More

Residency Year of Added Competence in Palliative Medicine
The Division of Palliative Care Medicine, Department of Oncology, University of Alberta is offering a fully funded one-year Program of Enhanced Skills in Palliative Medicine. The program is accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada, and is open to physicians who have completed requirements for certification by the College.

Read More