Tag Archives: McMaster University

Winner – Undergraduate Narrative Award

Congratulations to McMaster University student Kay Wu, winner of the 2021 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine for a narrative she submitted to the contest. Kay Wu will receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada.

Happy Inibhunu (University of Toronto) and Sydney Sparanese both received honourable mention for a poem and video they submitted, respectively.

We will encourage these students to submit their narratives for potential publication in the Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ) and we will post them as soon as we are able. Published narratives from past years’ contest are posted here.

Each year the award also recognizes a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine. This year’s honouree is Dr. Douglas McGregor from The University of British Columbia (UBC).

Dr. Douglas McGregor

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2021 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Dr. Douglas McGregor (Honoree, UBC), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Cori Schroder (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.

Winner of the 2020 Palliative Medicine Resident Research Award

Congratulations to Dr. Abby Maybee, from McMaster University, for winning the 2020 Palliative Medicine Resident Research Award.  She was selected by audience vote, via webinar, for her presentation Exploring Models of Care: A deeper understanding.  Congratulations to the other finalists too, for their excellent presentations about their scholarly projects: both from the University of Alberta, Dr. Mathieos Belayneh and Dr. Dustin Mattie.