Congratulations to Ottawa University student Candace Nayman, winner of the 2019 Undergraduate Narrative Award for Palliative Medicine for a poem she submitted to the contest. Hayeong Rho (Toronto) received honourable mention for a photo. We have invited Ms. Nayman to personally share her narrative at the 2020 Advanced Learning in Palliative Medicine Conference in Hamilton (May 28 – 30, 2020). She will also receive a cash prize of $500, generously sponsored by Pallium Canada.

We will encourage these students to submit their narratives for potential publication in the Canadian Medical Association Journal (CMAJ) and we will post them as soon as we are able. Published narratives from past years’ contests are posted here.

Each year the award also recognizes a palliative care physician who has shown an enduring commitment to the integration of the arts and humanities into the practice of palliative medicine. This year’s honouree is Dr. Stephen Liben from McGill University.

Dr. Stephen Liben profile

Thank you to all entrants and to the 2019 judging committee: Margaret Cottle (CSPCP Undergraduate Education Committee), Stephen Liben (Honoree, McGill U.), Carol-Ann Courneya (Advisor), Cori Schroder (CSPCP Awards Committee), and Barbara Sibbald (CMAJ).

For detailed information about this award, see the Awards Page on this web site.